Waynesfield Motorsports Park, Super Late Models, ALMS Racing Series, American Late Model Series, Dirt Track Racing, Dirt Modifieds, Race Ohio, Photos, Results, April 18, 2010, Short Track Racing, Jeep VanWormer, UMP Racing,


April 18, 2010
Waynesfield, OH

Waynesfield Raceway Park wrapped up its season opening weekend tonight with Jeep Van Wormer picking up the checkers in the UMP Late Model Feature, Jeff Babcock winning in the Post Agri-Service UMP Modifieds, Matt Twining grabbing the win in the Miracle Motorsports Tuff Trucks, and Justin Durflinger pulling the weekend sweep in the JR and Sons Service Center Compacts. 

In the 30 lap UMP Late Model feature it was #55 “SpiderMan” Jeep Van Wormer jumping out to the early lead with #12 Jason Jameson, #23c Jeremy Canada, and #3 Rick Delong in tow.  #49 Brian Ruhlman began slipping his away through the field as well as the #91 machine of Rusty Schlenk who felt the sting of the inversion wheel, having to start deep in the field.  A lap 8 caution for the #1 of Jeff Babcock allowed the field to tighten back up to the leader, but Jeep appeared to be up to the challenge  pulling out to a several car length advantage over the charging Brian Ruhlman.  As the race crossed lap 17, Van Wormer found himself  deep in lapped traffic.  The # 1 of Babcock was just as fast as the closing leader and  ultimately held up Van Wormer long enough to let Ruhlman begin to close in to about 3 car lengths.  That was as close as it would get as Jeep was able to pull away through traffic and leave Ruhlman to deal with #91 Rusty Schlenk who made a valiant charge during the last 3 laps to get alongside Ruhlman before getting held up by a lapper just long enough to let Ruhlman hang on to 2nd at the line.  Schlenk was third, #12 Jason Jameson fourth, and #23c Jeremy Canada rounding out the top 5.  Heats were won by #95 Jerry Bowersock, #91 Rusty Schlenk, and #1 Jeff Babcock.  The B-Main win went to #7 Matt Miller

In Post Agri-Service UMP Modified action it was #03 Cory Seeling jumping out the early race lead from his outside front row starting position, as polesitter Jimmie Haager in the #16, #65 Todd Sherman, and #52 Jeff Babcock all battled for 2nd.  Babcock and Sherman both cleared Haager with Sherman taking a couple of shots at passing Seeling by going on the outside, but Seeling was able to slam the door several times, but the side by side racing allowed Babcock to make his move around  both Sherman and Seeling.  The Luchini Motorsports #52 then set sail until 2 lapped cars got together in front of race leader  Babcock with Jeff making heavy contact with one of them.  Jeff was able to continue on with the front end damaged and had a big enough lead to hold on for the win, with Sherman second, Seeling third, #5a Shawn Bayliff finishing fourth after an impressive display of rim-riding on the high side of the 1/3 mile bullring, and polesitter Haager completing the top 5.  Heat Race wins went to Todd Sherman, #74 Lenny Guyton and Cory Seeling.  #ZERO Brent Hole picked up the B Main.

In the Miracle Motorsports Tuff Trucks, it was defending track champ “Fat” Matt Twining taking advantage of his front row starting spot to get out front early and lead from wire to wire, however it wasn’t easy.  Saturday nights feature winner #71 “The Juggernaut” Chris Hicks hounded Twining the first half of the race, until brother “Enforcer” Mike Hicks was able to get by and close in on “Fat” Matt.  It appeared Mike Hicks might have something for Twining, but just ran out of time as #1w Matt Twining held on to pick up his first win of the 2010 season.  When asked about having the Hicks brothers hounding him tonight, Twining said “This is what makes this class so much fun, you have two sets of brothers out here, all very competitive and any of us can win any week.  It’s gonna be a fun season”.  Matt also gave a shout out to brother Gabe Twining driver of the #25g truck who celebrated his 33rd birthday tonight,.  #33 Mike Hicks was 2nd, #71 Chris Hicks third, #37 Roy Miller fourth, and #18n Darren Noffsinger fifth.  Heats were won by Mike Hicks and Chris Hicks.

In JR and Sons Service Center Compacts competition, Justin Durflinger was able to pull off the weekend sweep, taking the win over #31 Jeff Kimes, #79 Brian Beach, #82 Harvey Yoder, #19 Jordan Iiams, and #71 Drew Smith.  Durflinger was informed of being one step closer to track promoter Dean Miracle’s rule of any driver who wins 3 features in a row has to start the next feature from the tail, and took it in stride.  “I can handle it”, Durlinger said with a grin in victory Lane. 

Waynesfield Raceway Park is back in action next Sunday night April 25 with the Lee’s Hydraulics Non Wing Sprints racing for $1500 to win as part of the Traditional Sprint Series with Gas City I-69 Speedway, Eldora Speedway, and Millstream Speedway leading up to the 2nd Annual Jack Hewitt Classic in August at WRP.  Along with the Non Wing Sprints, the Post Agri-Service UMP Modifieds, Miracle Motorsports Tuff Trucks, and the JR and Sons Service Center Compacts will all be in action.  Pit Gate opens at 3PM, Grandstand Gate at 4PM. Hot Laps at 5:15PM, Racing at 6PM.  General admission is $12 for adults 16 years and older, $6 for 11 to 15 year olds, and kids 10 and under get in free.  Pit Passes are $25.  Come out and see all of the cars and stars of Waynesfield Raceway Park next Sunday, April 25th.

Waynesfield Raceway Park Results 4-18-10

UMP Late Models
A Main
1. #55 Jeep Van Wormer, 2. #49 Brian Ruhlman, 3. #91 Rusty Schlenk, 4. #12 Jason Jameson, 5. #23c Jeremy Canada, 6. #1 Duane Chamberlain, 7. #3 Rick Delong,
8. #1 Wayne Chinn, 9. #15 Jon Henry, 10. #95 Jerry Bowersock, 11. #1 Jeff Babcock, 12. 40 Wayne Maffet Jr, 13. #40 Dusty Moore, 14. #30 Josh Scott,
15. #12 Michael Stiltner, 16. # 35 Ron Miller, 17. #5h Ernie Haynes, 18. #84 Tim Sabo, 19. #7 Matt Miller, 20. #77 Steve Kester

Post Agri-Service UMP Modifieds
A Main
 Jeff Babcock, 2. #65 Todd Sherman, 3. #03 Cory Seeling, 4. #5a Shawn Bayliff, 5. #16 Jimmie Haager, 6. #10 Scott Bowersock, 7. #74 Lenny Guyton,
8. #22t Tony Anderson, 9. #15 Nick Katterhenry, 10. #45p Brian Post, 11. #44 Zach Schroeder, 12. #22b Andy Bibler, 13. #33 Clint Reagle,
14. #36 Brandon Vaughan, 15. #20k Bill Keeler, 16. #ZERO Brent Hole, 17. #67 Eddie Shaner, 18. #28 Chad Rosenbeck, 19. #18 Ryan Sutter, 20. #42 Bob Baldwin

Miracle Motorsports Tuff Trucks
A Main
1. 1w Matt Twining, 2. #33 Mike Hicks, 3. #71 Chris Hicks, 4. #37 Roy Miller, 5. #18n Darren Noffsinger, 6. #89 Keith Shockency, 7. #43 Dan Crowder,
8. #17 Ryan Dunlap, 9. #22 Aaron Meyers, 10. #MT1 Bill Keeler, 11. #31 Dustin Hunsaker, 12. #23x Eric Ordean, 13. #10b Daryl Brackney, 14. #01h Randy Hamp,
15. #27 Rob Adams, 16. #25g Gabe Twining
JR and Sons Service Center Compacts
A Main
1. #17 Justin Durflinger, 2. #31 Jeff Kimes, 3. #79 Brian Beach, 4. #82 Harvey Yoder, 5. #19 Jordan Iiams, 6. #71 Drew Smith.

The official Waynesfield Motorsports Park website can be found here. General admission is only $12 for 16 years and older, $6 for 11 to 15 years old and 10 and under FREE ! $25 PITS!
Address: Waynesfield Motorsports Park - 15811 Waynesfield Road - Waynesfield Ohio 45896 . Telephone: 419-568-3201 or cell at 419-306-1499 .
Over 40 acre facility with free camping. Pit Gates open at 4pm, Grandstand Gate opens at 5, Drivers Meeting at 6, Racing at 7, *Sunday shows will run 1 hour earlier!
2009 Points Champions include: #11 Tim Allison / 360 Sprints, #52 Jeff Babcock / UMP Modified, #1w Matt Twinning / Tuff Trucks, #47 Garry Loney / 600cc Sprint
Wednesday, June 23 - Ohio Sprint Speedweek date for the All Star Circuit of Champion 410 Sprint Cars!
Saturday, August 2 - Jack Hewitt Classic featuring Non Wing Sprints and 1000 cc Mini Sprints
September 17 & 18 - Bear Wieck Memorial and "Big Dawg 100" Special events for UMP Modifieds